Student Awards 2010

Several awards are granted each year at the spring convocation.  The awards and 2009-10 winners are listed be

Allison Neuman ’10 received the J Harlen Bretz Award for Outstanding Senior Geology Major:  This award is given to the senior geology or earth science major who has excelled in all areas.

Kyle Kubitz ’10 received the W. A. Tarr Award for Outstanding Scholarship and Leadership in Geology:  This award  is given to the senior geology or earth science major who has excelled in undergraduate academics and leadership.

The Faculty Award for Leadership in Geology was presented to Melissa Light ’10: This award is given to the senior geology or earth science major who has demonstrated strong leadership and a sustained commitment to serving the department.

Matt Mahony, ’11 and Will Ward, ’11 were co-winners of Bill and Virginia Dunn Alumni Award for the Outstanding Junior Geology Major.

John Jacisin, ’12 received the Alumni Award for the Outstanding Sophomore Geology Major.

Taylor Fellows

Each year, several students are named Lawrence D. Taylor Undergraduate Geology Research Fellows.  The department has an endowed fund to support undergraduate research activities, including field expenses, supplies and travel to meetings.

In 2009-10 five students were Taylor Fellows:  Melissa A. Light, ’10 Matthew E. Mahoney, ’11 Brittany R. Myers, ’10, Allison M. Neumann, ’10, Allison S. Robbins, ’10The Taylor Undergraduate Research Fund provides support for undergraduate researchers in geology.  Melissa Light, Matt Mahony, and Alison Neumann worked with Dr. Bill Bartels on early to middle Eocene fossil fauna in the Green River Basin, Wyoming.  Brittany Myers worked with Chris Van de Ven on plant distributions, soil chemistry and climate change in the White Mountains of eastern California. Allison Robbins worked on river disturbances in Nevada.

Honorary Societies

Geology and earth science majors may be nominated by departmental faculty for membership in honorary societies.  Nominees are typically juniors and seniors who meet the criteria of the society.

Sigma Gamma Epsilon is a national earth science honorary society; the Kappa Gamma chapter is at Albion College.

Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society, is an international organization that honors and promotes scientific research.  Junior or senior students who excel in scientific research may be nominated by faculty members of Sigma Xi.

This entry was posted in Awards and Honors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *