Four awards are presented by the Society:

The Pavlovian Research Award, established by W. Horsley Gantt, honors members(particularly younger members) of the Society for significant research accomplishments. The award consists of a certificate and citation.

President Catharine Rankin with Marie Monfils, 2019 recipient of the Pavlovian Research Award.

  • 2022: Susan Sangha, IU School of Medicine.
  • 2021: Michael Drew, University of Texas at Austin.
  • 2020: not awarded (COVID-19 online meeting).
  • 2019 winner: Marie Monfils, University of Texas at Austin.
  • 2018 winner: Sheena Josselyn,University of Toronto.
  • 2017 winner: Thomas Gould, Pennsylvania State University.
  • 2016 winner: Geoffrey Schoenbaum, National Institute on Drug Abuse.
  • 2015 winner: Mark BaxterMount Sinai School of Medicine.
  • 2014 winner: David J. Bucci, Dartmouth College.
  • 2013 winner: K. Matthew Lattal, Oregon Health & Science University.
  • 2012 winner: Gorica Petrovich, Boston College.
  • 2011 winner: Gavan McNally, University of New South Wales.
  • 2010 winner: Jeansok Kim, University of Washington.
  • 2009 winner: John Freeman, University of Iowa.
  • 2008 winner: Bernard Balleine, University of California, Los Angeles.
  • 2007 winner: William Timberlake, Indiana University.
  • 2006 winner: Michael Davis, Emory University.
  • 2005 winner: Mark Stanton, University of Delaware.
  • 2004 winner: Fred Helmstetter, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.
  • 2003 winner: Diana Woodruff-Pak, Temple University & Albert Einstein Medical Center.
  • 2002 winner: Richard Servatius, New Jersey Medical School.

The Gantt Medal, established by the Society following the death of W. Horsley Gantt in 1980, is awarded to individuals who have made distinguished contributions to the fields of psychology, physiology, behavioral neuroscience, psychophysiology, mental health or medicine within the confines of  Pavlovian conceptual models or who have contributed significantly to the functioning of the Society.

President Catharine Rankin presents the 2019 Gantt Medal to Steve Maren.

  • 2022 winner: Fred Helmstetter, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee.
  • 2021 winner: Tracey Shors, Rutgers University.
  • 2020 winner: David Bucci, Dartmouth College.
  • 2019 winner: Steve Maren, Texas A&M University.
  • 2018 winner: Ed Wasserman, University of Iowa.
  • 2017 winner: Michela Gallagher, Johns Hopkins University.
  • 2016 winner: John Pearce, Cardiff University.
  • 2015 winner: Peter Balsam, Columbia University.
  • 2014 winner: Ilene Bernstein, University of Washington.
  • 2013 winner: Fred Westbrook, University of New South Wales.
  • 2012 winner: Joseph LeDoux, New York University.
  • 2011 winner: Richard Thompson, University of Southern California.
  • 2010 winner: Mark Bouton, University of Vermont.
  • 2009 winner: Allan Wagner, Yale University.
  • 2008 winner: Joe Steinmetz, University of Kansas.
  • 2007 winner: Michael Fanselow, University of California, Los Angeles.
  • 2006 winner: Peter Holland, Johns Hopkins University.
  • 2005 winner: Robert Rescorla, University of Pennsylvania.
  • 2004 winner: Nick Mackintosh, University of Cambridge.
  • 2003 winner: Bruce Overmier, University of Minnesota.
  • 2002 winner: Shepard Siegel, McMaster University.
  • 2001 winner: Ralph Miller, SUNY – Binghamton.

The Student Poster Award (established in 2007) recognizes the best poster presented at the Annual Meeting of the Pavlovian Society by a student who has not yet obtained a Ph.D. at the time of abstract submission.  Posters (and their presenters) are judged by the quality of the presentation, thoughtfulness, originality and creativity of the work.  The award is intended to stimulate continued participation in the Society’s meeting.

Adam Ramsaran is recognized as the 2019 winner of our Poster Award.

  • 2022: Chad Brunswick (mentor Janine Kwapis),  Pennsylvania State University.
  • 2021: Lauren DiFazio (mentor: Mel Sharpe), UCLA.
  • 2020: not awarded (COVID-19 online meeting).
  • 2019 winner: Adam Ramsaran (mentors: Sheena Josselyn & Paul Frankland), Hospital for Sick Children & University of Toronto
  • 2018 winner: Ryan Lingg (mentor: Jason Radley), University of Iowa.
  • 2017 winner: Anne Collins (mentor: Kate Wassum), UCLA.
  • 2016 winner: Lauren Anderson (mentor: Gorica Petrovich), Boston College.
  • 2015 winner: Arun Asok (mentor:  Jeffrey B. Rosen), University of Delaware.
  • 2014 winner:  Melanie Pina (mentor: Chris Cunningham), Oregon Health & Science University.
  • 2013 winner:  Cindy Fast (mentors: Aaron Blaisdell & Michael Fanselow), UCLA.
  • 2012 winner: Janine Kwapis (mentor: Fred Helmstetter), University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.
  • 2011 winner: Kartik Ramamoorthi (mentors: Tim Otto & Yingxi Lin), Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
  • 2010 winner: Jennifer Szczytkowski (mentor: Donald Lysle), University of North Carolina.
  • 2009 winner: Moriel Zelikowsky (mentor: Michael Fanselow), University of California, Los Angeles.
  • 2008 winner: Tim Jarome (mentor: Fred Helmstetter), University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.
  • 2007 winner: Christina Gremel (mentor: Chris Cunningham), Oregon Health & Science University.

The Bucci Undergraduate Scholarship was established in memory of former President of the Society David Bucci by his friends at Dartmouth University, and is administered  by the Society.  Its intent is to cover cost of attending the meting for a deserving undergraduate student. Bucci Scholarship information is here.

  • 2022 winner: Yuichi Fukunaga (mentor Victor Cazares), Williams College.
  • 2021 winner: Alvina Liang (mentor: Kate Wassum), UCLA.

Earlier Award Winners (from archives provided by Byron Campbell):

  • Pavlovian Award
    • 1966: W. Christian Atrup
    • 1967: Vernon Rowland; Carl W. Sem-Jacobsen
    • 1968: Carmine Clemente
    • 1970: Joseph E. O. Newton; Roscoe A. Dykman; Oddist D. Murphree; John E. Peters
    • 1971: Desmond Kelly
    • 1972: Derek A. Denton
    • 1973: Juraj Antal
    • 1974: James P. Isaacs; John C. Lamb
    • 1975: Ronald E. Meyers; Shoji Kakigi
    • 1976: H. D. Kimmel; James J. Lynch
    • 1977: Orlando J. Andy; John A. Stern; Wanda Wyrwicka
    • 1978: Jorge P. Cruet
    • 1979: David C. Randall
    • 1980: Bernard T. Engel
    • 1981: Alan H. Harris; Benjamin H. Natelson
    • 1982: John J. Furedy
    • 1983: K. V. Sudakov
    • 1984: Nicola A. Nicolov
    • 1985: David Anderson; Jaylan S. Turkkan
    • 1986-1987: not presented.
    • 1988: Corneliu Giurgea
    • 1989-1990: not presented.
    • 1991: Donald A. Powell
    • 1992: Isadore Gormezano
    • 1993: Barry Dworkin; Bruce Kapp
    • 1994: “Dutch cardiologist”
    • 1995: James W. Pennebaker
    • 1996: Nancy K. Dess
    • 1997: Ed Eisenstein
  • Gantt Medalists
    • 1984: Harry Teitelbaum
    • 1985: Rebecca Gantt; William G. Reese; John Mason
    • 1986: Curt P. Richter; Stewart Wolf; F. J. McGuigan
    • 1987: James J. Lynch; Shoji Kakigi; Yoshizumi Niimi; Yo Miyata; Yasho Kotake
    • 1988: Roscoe A. Dykman
    • 1990: Joseph E. O. Newton; Orlando Andy
    • 2000: John Furedy*

* Information provided by the membership – not from the Campbell list.

Anyone with information about years not represented is urged to contact W. J. Wilson at

1 Response to Awards

  1. Pingback: En memoria de Allan R. Wagner (1934-2018). Psicólogo del Aprendizaje Asociativo

Comments are closed.